• Staff Writer

What County is Lake Tahoe In?

Updated: Aug 22, 2021

Lake Tahoe - County to County

Asking what county Lake Tahoe is in, is actually a trick question.

The reason: Lake Tahoe is in four different counties across two states.

The counties are:

  • El Dorado County, California

  • Placer County, California

  • Washoe County, Nevada

  • Douglas County, Nevada

Because the two California counties are generally less mountainous near the shoreline, those counties contain the majority of Tahoe region homes and businesses.

Here are the four county polygons represented on a Google My Map:

The Fifth Polygon - Carson City

There's some confusion as to whether Carson City is both a city and a county, as is San Francisco.

While Carson City, NV is treated as a county-equivalent for census purposes, it is not a county. Officially, it is the Consolidated Municipality of Carson City.

Before 1969, Carson City was the county seat of Ormsby County. In 1969, Ormsby County was abolished. The former county's territory was merged with Carson City.

Lake Tahoe's Elbow

The elbow in the geographic center of the lake, where the California/Nevada state line makes an abrupt turn, is at almost exactly 39°N and 120°W. The connecting counties at this confluence are El Dorado and Douglas counties.

While different counties have different permitting procedures and even different tax rates, they all have excellent access to the natural beauty and many activities associated with Lake Tahoe.

Tahoe Boat Storage

31 views0 comments